Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Personal tools

ALTER-Net: A Long-Term Biodiversity, Ecosystem and Awareness Research Network

Europe’s ecosystem research network


Short 'Jenga' banner Summer School 2017 - short banner

Presentations and Policy Brief available


Registration closed2x2 white space

2x2 white space

Gradient thin strip 1151x10px

2x2 white space

2x2 white space

You are here: Home / About us / Management Board: who's who

Management Board: who's who

About the ALTER-Net Management Board

The ALTER-Net Secretariat is supported by the Management Board (MB). Each board member had responsibility for one activity area. The Management Board's main function is to deliver ALTER-Net's annual action plan. Specific activities may be led by project leaders who report to the MB. The Management Board meets approximately 3-4 times per year. The Board may make recommendations to Council.

New members of the Management Board were elected in January 2014. They are shown below. Thank you to previous MB members for all your hard work!

Management Board members from April 2014

Chair: Allan Watt, NERC-CEH

Allan Watt

Co-chair: Jiska van Dijk, NINA

Jiska van Dijk


Secretary: Tessa van Santen, INBO

Tessa van Santen


Management Board members:


Andrew Sier, CEH

Andrew Sier

Ben Delbaere, ECNC

Ben Delbaere

Joint Training Activities Philip Roche, Irstea
Research Calls Petteri Vihervaara, SYKE
ALTER-Net High Impact Actions (AHIA) Lawrence Jones-Walters, Alterra
Research Activities

Frauke Ecke, SLU

Frauke Ecke

Science-Policy interface Carsten Neßhöver, UFZ

Michael Mirtl, EAA

Michael Mirtl